Colloquium

From MathWiki
Jump to: navigation, search

New Mexico Tech Mathematics Department Colloquium



Colloquia on lecture-capture

Google Calendar

Date Time Location Speaker Title Abstract
Friday, January 22 3:30 p.m. Weir 102
Thursday, January 28 3:30 p.m. Weir 203 Richard Hahn A slice sampling algorithm for fitting Bayesian IV models Hahn Abstract
Friday, January 29 9:00 a.m. Weir 203 Dongxiao Zhang candidacy presentation Dust Devil Modeling-Buoyancy Effect and Heat Transfer DZhang Abstract
Friday, February 5 3:30 p.m. Weir 102 No colloquium. Presidential candidates speaking to faculty.
Friday, February 12 3:30 p.m. Weir 102
Friday, February 19 3:30 p.m. Weir 102
Tuesday, February 23 4:00 p.m. Weir 129 Math Faculty Candidate Xu Zhang, Purdue University Immersed Finite Element Methods for Interface Problems Xu Zhang Abstract
Friday, February 26 4:00 p.m. Weir 102 Math Faculty Candidate David Torres, Northern New Mexico College Modeling Honey Bee Populations David Torres Abstract
Thursday, March 3 4:00 p.m. Weir 129 Math Faculty Candidate Dr. Özkan A. Özer, University of Nevada-Reno Modeling issues for a class of smart structures, and Mathematical challenges in controlling related Partial Differential Equations Ozer Abstract
Friday, March 4 4:00 p.m. Weir 102 Yougan Cheng, Modeling Direction Sensing in Dictyostelium Discoideum Cheng Abstract
Monday, March 7 4:00 p.m. Weir 129 Math Faculty Candidate Yi Zhang, University of Tennessee at Knoxville Finite Element Methods for Fourth Order Variational Inequalities with Applications to Optimal Control Problems Yi Zhang Abstract
Tuesday, March 8
Wednesday, March 9 4:00 p.m. Weir 102 Math Faculty Candidate Yanyan He, University of Utah Non-probabilistic Methods for Uncertainty Quantification Yanyan He Abstract
Thursday, March 10 3:30 p.m. Weir 128 Bob Eisenberg: Mathematics and Molecular Biology Eisenberg Abstract
Friday, March 11 3:30 p.m. Weir 102 No Colloquium because of department meeting
Friday, March 18 3:30 p.m. Weir 102 No Colloquium: Spring Break
Friday, March 25 3:30 p.m. Weir 102 No Colloquium: Tech closed
Friday, April 1 3:30 p.m. Weir 102
Wednesday, April 6 12:30 p.m. Weir 129 Dissertation Defense - Gabrielle Miller Gabby Miller Abstract Urban Blast Waves: A Semi-Analytic Solution for Intense Explosions with Rigid Wall Reflections
Friday, April 8 3:30 p.m. Weir 102
Friday, April 15 3:30 p.m. Weir 102
Friday, April 22 2-3:30 p.m. Weir 129 Jesus D. Gomez-Velez MS Thesis Defense Jesus Gomez Abstract Exploring the Dynamics of Hydrologic Response and Age Distributions
Friday, April 22 3:30 p.m. Weir 102 Daniel Acheampong Ion size effects on ionic flows via steady-state Poisson-Nernst-Planck systems with nonlocal hard-sphere potential
Friday, April 29 3:30 p.m. Weir 102
Friday, May 6 3:30 p.m. Weir 102
Friday, July 1 2:30 p.m. Weir 102 Prakash Dhakal Hierarchical Modeling of Biorhythm Data: Classical and Bayesian Approaches Prakash Dhakal Abstract